Puy Lentil Bolognese

20 Jan

For an unashamed omnivore, I post so many vegetarian recipes!

I think it’s because there is so much more variety of flavours and textures to be found in vegetarian produce – it’s exciting!

This is a new MEGA-FAVOURITE! I may even prefer it to regular bolognese sauce.

Most of the recipes that I looked at before I made this took quite a long time to cook (using dried lentils), and none of them used puy!!! Being a very passionate puy lover and impatient to eat that night, I had to put this right. It is so right!! 🙂

Serves 2-4 – (Really, it serves 4, but the love and I ate all of it. It is so right!! 😛 It’s so healthy too, it really is just something that had to be done)

  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 carrots, finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • pinch of celery salt
  • 250g ready to eat puy lentils (I used Merchant Gourmet with porcini and thyme, but I will include porcini and thyme in the ingredients list assuming you can’t find this)
  • 1 x 400g can chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp tomato purée
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • small handful of dried porcini mushrooms, crumbled into 100ml boiling water
  • Spaghetti and freshly grated parmesan, to serve
  1. Heat some olive oil in a large pan over a medium heat and and the onion. Soften for about 5 minutes, then add the carrots, garlic and celery salt. Cook for a further 10 minutes until everything is softened (though I like my carrots to retain a little bit of bite). Stir in the lentils, tomatoes, tomato purée, herbs, porcini mushrooms and their soaking water. Bring to a simmer and cook until the mixture has reduced to an unctuous saucy texture (10-15 minutes). 
  2. Now season with pepper and dish up with spaghetti and grated parmesan! It’s that easy! 😀

 

002

003

10 Responses to “Puy Lentil Bolognese”

  1. samwhollis January 21, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

    This is amazing!

  2. homecreationseveryday January 21, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    Mmm….this sounds and looks so yummy! Lentils are so delicious and filled with lots of fiber and protein! This is a great vegetarian dish 🙂

    • shikoomkoom January 21, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

      Thank you very much! 😀 I think it will become a staple in casa Anna 😛

  3. Assia January 21, 2013 at 3:30 am #

    Love lentils and love bolognese! Can’t get any better than this! 🙂

    • shikoomkoom January 21, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

      I definitely agree! This is a special combination 🙂

  4. musingmar January 20, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    Sounds so good – I adore lentils!

    • shikoomkoom January 20, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

      Thank you! So do I, though I’ve not developed my love for other lentils as much as puy yet. Perhaps I should experiment some more!

  5. cantstopcrafting January 20, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    Another one for my to do list………:D

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lentils « homecreationseveryday - January 21, 2013

    […] Puy Lentil Bolognese (https://welcomebackbelly.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

