Spinach and Ricotta Pie

22 Dec

This is based on a recipe from Yotam Ottolenghi and Sami Tamimi’s book Jerusalem. I don’t own the book (although I would like to – Yotam’s recipes are the best!), but this was published in a magazine I subscribe to, under the name ‘Herb Pie’.

I have deviated somewhat from their blueprint, mainly because I couldn’t find some of the ingredients they list such as anari cheese, and my local supermarket just never seems to supply chard. I loved this version however, and I hope you will too!

003

Serves 2.

  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 250g bag baby spinach
  • 25g rocket
  • large handful parsley, chopped
  • large handful mint, chopped
  • large handful dill, chopped
  • 60g ricotta
  • 50g mature cheddar, grated
  • 30g feta, crumbled
  • grated zest 1/2 lemon
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 125g filo pastry (approx 1/2 pack or 3 large pieces)
  • salt, pepper and caster sugar (a little of each) for seasoning
  • olive oil, to fry and to brush
  1. Preheat the oven to 200°c. Pour a little oil into a large, deep frying pan over medium-low heat. Add the onion and fry for 5-10 minutes. Turn the heat up a bit, add the spinach and cook for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally to encourage wilting. Add the rocket and herbs and cook until everything is wilted together. Transfer to a colander to cool.
  2. While the mixture is cooling, halve each sheet of pastry (if you are using an 18.5cm flan tin). Lay one sheet on a clean work surface and brush with oil. Cover with another sheet and continue until you have 3 layers of pastry. Start again and do the same thing with the remaining pastry.
  3. When the spinach mixture is cool, squeeze as much water out of it as you can, then transfer it to a chopping board. Roughly chop, then return to a bowl and add the three cheeses, lemon zest, eggs and seasoning. Mix it all together.
  4. Line the base and sides of your pie dish with 1 stack of pastry. Fill with the spinach mixture, then place the remaining stack of pastry, scrunching it up a little for effect, if you like. Trim the edges so it just covers the pie. Brush with oil, then bake in the oven for about 40 minutes until the pastry is crunchy and golden brown. It is now ready to serve.

A relatively short post from me here! I feel like I have been running around like a headless chicken for the last week or so. I don’t know how true that is,but it is definitely how I feel. Want to post, need to sleep! Compromising by not rabbiting on for half as long as I could…

But DO try this! 🙂

6 Responses to “Spinach and Ricotta Pie”

  1. ChgoJohn December 23, 2012 at 4:39 am #

    It reminds me of a large spanakopita. Must be delicious!
    Have a wonderful Holiday and happy 2013!

    • shikoomkoom December 23, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      Yes! This is what I thought too. I almost called it ‘Spanakopita Pie’ 🙂 Merry Christmas to you too, and I hope next year is wonderful for you xx

  2. musingmar December 23, 2012 at 4:12 am #

    Sounds so good and reminds me it’s been too long since I’ve made a dish like this!

    • shikoomkoom December 23, 2012 at 10:35 am #

      Thank you 🙂 I love to mix it up in the kitchen! Merry Christmas to you and a happy new year! 🙂 xx

  3. diane mavity December 22, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    up your street this one MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR XXXXXXXX

    • shikoomkoom December 23, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      Merry Christmas to you too! 😀 xxxxx ❤

Leave a Reply

