Tonnato Jackets

12 Dec

The most precious cookbook I own is Nigella Express.

It’s not rare, unusual, old and tattered like a treasured possession might be, but it is so loved because, to me, it symbolises journey with food and eating.

When I first became truly ill with my eating disorder, this is the series I marvelled at on TV. I quickly brought the book and devoured every page hungrily. I suppose I learnt it off by heart, because it was everything I craved and needed.

Now I can use it to actually take inspiration from and create the dishes I pined for once. So I flip through it fondly, and that will always be the way.

The recipe that led to this one is Nigella’s turkey tonnato.

I made it once as she instructs, but I wasn’t too sure about the pairing of turkey with the sauce. There is nothing wrong with it, but I felt that the sauce was too delicious not to be the main focus of the meal. I’ve changed the quantities slightly and omitted capers, because I hate them. Furthermore, Nigella preaches the benefits of best-quality tuna from a jar, and mayonnaise likewise. But I’ve made this with regular canned tuna and Hellmann’s, and to me, it doesn’t seem like life gets much better!

I am assuming, as I write the recipe below, that you know how to make a baked potato. To me, this is the best and therefore only accompaniment for tonnato, but it would also be nice with pasta.

Serves 2.

  • approx 70g canned tuna, drained
  • 2-3 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp sour cream or natural yoghurt
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 2-3 anchovies, roughly chopped
  • 2 spring onions, chopped
  • 2 baked potatoes, to serve
  • salad or green veg, to serve
  1.  Add the first 5 ingredients to a food processor and whiz until smooth. You will not need to add any seasoning due to the natural saltiness of the tuna and the anchovies, which you will add later.
  2. Butter your jacket, or don’t (if you are strange), then top with the tonnato sauce, spring onions and chopped anchovies.
  3. Serve with salad or green veg. It really is that simple!

002

6 Responses to “Tonnato Jackets”

  1. musingmar December 13, 2012 at 3:30 am #

    The only time I made tonnato it included capers and they completely put me off; I threw the whole batch off and never tried it again. Clearly it’s time to give it another go, this time caperless. But what’s this about buttering your potato? I would be in the non-buttering category with this particular dish, strange as that sounds to someone who prefers theirs buttered. Your comment about us non-butterers made me laugh!

    • shikoomkoom December 13, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

      Haha 🙂 I thought the butter thing might spark debate, but I do realise that what I do with my potatoes may not be for everyone 😛 When I was younger, anything involving bread or potatoes was buttered without any real thought process involved. When I was ill, it was obviously out of the question, but now (thankfully) it is a given once more! My boyfriend doesn’t understand why I add butter to my beans on toast, and my friend once gasped in horror as I buttered her bread before topping it with Nutella… Butter can only add to the taste of things in my opinion… Anyway, I am so glad to have peaked your interest in this again! If you do give it another go, please let me know how it turns out 🙂 xx

      • musingmar December 14, 2012 at 12:47 am #

        In my family, my non-buttering habits are definitely an aberration! The rest of them butter the toast before they slap on the jam, etc etc, leaving me wondering … “why?”. 😀

      • shikoomkoom December 14, 2012 at 10:28 am #

        They sound like my kind of people 🙂 xx

  2. diane mavity December 12, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    This sounds delicious anna might try it without the anchovies cos I don’t like them x

Leave a Reply

