Chestnut Pasta Take 2

10 Dec

You may think it’s time for me to stop rambling on about chestnuts, and you may well be right, but I still have a few chestnut-related itches left to scratch.. ahem…

So this is not my 2nd attempt at a chestnut pasta dish, but the 2nd attempt that has gone well. Just so you’re aware, I have 1 more idea for chestnut pasta, and then hopefully that chapter will be closed. I also want to make Mont Blancs, so maybe this year, maybe next, who knows?

Much as I love the first chestnut pasta recipe I posted on here, the goat’s cheese did make the whole thing seem a little dry, despite adding pasta water to the sauce mixture. Like I said, I have 2 ideas to resolve this. One involves parmesan and creme fraiche; this one involves neither. It was inspired by the picture of Nigella’s chestnut pasta in Nigellisima, but not so much the recipe, strangely.

Serves 2.

  • 200g pasta of your choice
  • approx 180g vacuum packed chestnuts
  • 100g pancetta or 2 slices bacon, chopped (optional)
  • splash of white wine
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 spring onions, finely sliced
  • small handful of fresh parsley, chopped
  • knob of butter, to serve
  1. Boil the kettle, pour the water into a saucepan with plenty of salt, then tip in the pasta and boil for 10-15 minutes, until tender but NOT sloppy, then, saving a cupful of the pasta cooking water, drain the rest and set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, Add a little oil to a frying pan and place over medium heat. Add the garlic and let it sizzle for about a minute, then add the pancetta or bacon and fry until crisp.
  3. Now add the wine and a splash of the pasta cooking water, and crumble in the chestnuts. Bring to the boil, then simmer until it reduces a little.
  4. Return the pasta to the frying pan, give everything a good stir so it is all thoroughly combined, then serve in plates or bowls with the spring onions, fresh parsley and butter scattered on top.

Again, the picture doesn’t do it much justice.

IMG_8357

At the time of cooking I didn’t think to add another vegetable, but I do think this would be a good idea. Any thoughts on what would go best?

3 Responses to “Chestnut Pasta Take 2”

  1. Choc Chip Uru December 12, 2012 at 1:15 am #

    What a warming and delicious festive meal 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. ChgoJohn December 10, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    I’m always ready for a new pasta and this is one I’ve not seen before. Now to find the chestnuts and I’l be all set. Thanks for sharing.

    • shikoomkoom December 10, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      Fantastic I’m so glad to play a part in your cooking! 🙂 I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

