Christmas Crafting

9 Dec

Do you ever find yourself looking at the clock and being shocked at the time while trying to make your gingerbread look just so?

Well, this is what happened to me last night. I had spent a substantial part of the afternoon preparing for the gingerbread house I had wanted to make for years. I followed every instruction for making, baking, rolling, building… I worked hard! Then, after a short tea break (maybe 2-4 hours…), I decided to get back to it. So what if it’s already past 10 o’ clock and I’m normally in bed by now? It’s Saturday night and I’m hardcore! Many trials and tribulations later, it was getting on for 1am. But brace yourselves for the final result!

It was supposed to look like this:

GFO_1212_NsCover16

 

But I found this a step above my abilities. It wasn’t to be! My gingerbread pieces turned out to be too bulky. I thought I had rolled the dough out thinly enough, but it was very sticky dough and I imagine my mind was playing tricks on me to prevent me from adding 500g more flour and/or chucking it at the window. I baked each piece for slightly longer than the recipe suggested because they just didn’t seem to be browning up like they should. I took them out of the oven when they were firm to the touch, but they were not firm enough for a good sturdy house – probably because they were too thick. The love said that this would result in better insulation, but a collapsing house just wouldn’t be worth the fleeting warmth in my opinion. I think I came up with a decent solution, seeing as though the house stubbornly refused to stick together.

It ended up looking like this:

017

 

Now, it may look like a garden shed as opposed to the grand cottage I had in mind (due to the fact that the entire house was built from 1 wall of the gingerbread house that had fallen apart for the nth time), and the love told me that I probably wouldn’t be able to work for Ace of Gingerbreads, but I am so happy with it nonetheless! Making a little house meant that I could use the ideas I had for a garden πŸ™‚

Here is my snowman (of course), in his liquorice allsorts packet inspired hat:

019

 

The gnome… He’s trying to fish but the pond is frozen over which is silly.

018

 

The pile of presents, the Β chocolate biscuit pathway and the ‘giant’ candy cane ‘tree’ πŸ˜€

020

 

Of course, using one of 6 large pieces of gingerbread meant that I had A LOT of leftovers to contend with. The initial mixture makes such a large amount that I actually froze half of it for another time, but since I had already baked the other half, I decided to use it to make biscuits!

So, we had flowers, hearts and squirrels. Yes, squirrels because the love gave me a lovely cookie cutter as an early Christmas present :3

I’ve had plans to make squirrel nutkins for a while, and I still fully intend to, but since the time hasn’t yet come, here they have their first outing as red squirrels. Ginger… red… I thought it was cute…

013

I used the icing which was meant for glueing the house pieces together to brighten them up a bit. And edible sugar, as it was there πŸ™‚

IMG_8387

I know it looks like child play, and essentially it was! It was about all I had time for after the efforts and sacrifices involved in making a ‘full-sized’ gingerbread house. They taste good is all that matters, and they last about a week apparently which is great stuff as we have thousands!

I also left this out for the love who was late home :3

012

 

I know, aren’t we the sweetest πŸ˜‰

Anyway, on a much quicker and smoother note (as this task met far fewer obstacles). This is my wreath!!

005

 

I am so happy that I finally feel able to create things again after years of being too afraid.

Ultimately, I find that this post sums up a sign we have hanging on the wall, which says ‘do something you love every day’.

022

14 Responses to “Christmas Crafting”

  1. bakearama December 21, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    I think half the fun of gingerbread houses is in the making and crafting of the little details – on which you did a great job!

    • shikoomkoom December 21, 2012 at 10:25 am #

      It was definitely the part I enjoyed most πŸ™‚ thank you very much!

  2. Irene December 18, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    It looks fun and seem like you had a lot of fun too! Happy Holiday!

  3. Cynthia December 10, 2012 at 7:54 am #

    I just discovered your blog via tumblr and I am loving your posts so much! I will have a lot of reading to do the next few days πŸ˜‰

    As a side note, you truly inspire me so much (from what you have written on tumblr and your about page here). Thank you!

    • shikoomkoom December 10, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

      Thank you! I’m so happy to hear that πŸ˜€ If you have a blog I’d be more than happy to check it out πŸ™‚

  4. Tracey Cooke December 10, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    I just loved this post and it made me smile on the outside and the inside πŸ˜€ xx xx

    • shikoomkoom December 10, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

      Naaw πŸ™‚ I hope you realise how much of a part you have to play in these kind of things, with your support and positivity πŸ˜€

  5. ChgoJohn December 10, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    I have no such skills whatsoever and it’s truly a shame how much gingerbread has met its demise during my attempts. You, on the other hand, have “the gift” and your gingerbread house and “lot” look great. Nicely done!

    • shikoomkoom December 10, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

      I am so glad I’m not the only one who struggles with gingerbread creations! Thanks for the lovely things you say :3

  6. musingmar December 10, 2012 at 3:05 am #

    Your gingerbread house and landscape is adorable! I used to make these with my kids when they were little.

    • shikoomkoom December 10, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

      Thank you! πŸ˜€ I told a few people beforehand that I was going to make one, and they all asked me if I was doing it as a project with the kids for college. I was like ‘no… should it be?’ πŸ˜› I’ve justified this by thinking of it as preparation for when I have children of my own.

      • musingmar December 11, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

        I don’t think any justification is required for making a gingerbread house – they are a lovely sign of the season and appeal to the child in all of us!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Battenberg Cake and a Remorseful Explanation « welcomebackbelly - February 19, 2013

    […] who tends to balls things up when it comes to making them look neat and beautiful (have you seen my gingerbread house!?). I am sure you will be much more adept than me […]

Leave a Reply

