Home-made Hoisin sauce and a Side of Stir-Fry

26 Nov

It has been a few days since I posted anything, but not for wont of trying!

Unfortunately, this week has been clutz week. Clutz week usually entails a lack of concentration, clumsiness, forgetfulness and impatience, so when it comes to cooking it doesn’t tend to turn out quite right.

I attempted crab cakes last Wednesday – one of my favourites, and they were delicious but I had to improvise with certain ingredients that I forgot to buy. Thursday I made my first risotto! Which, despite a few mistakes turned out how it was supposed to! But I didn’t think much of the flavours I used. Friday, cassoulet. I could eat cassoulet until it was coming out of my ears, but seriously just look on the BBC Good Food website. Sunday was my worst failure of them all. Please, don’t make me talk about it.

Anyway! As I was successful in the kitchen today, I am hoping that the coming week is set to wash out the clutz in me. For a while.

Making this sauce was amazing as all of the ingredients were already in my cupboards. If they’re also in your cupboards, you have no excuse not to make it in my opinion.

Serves 2.

For the Sauce:

  • 4 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp smooth peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tsp rice vinegar (I used spiced black rice vinegar. You should too.)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp hot pepper sauce
  • a sprinkling of black pepper, to season

To Accompany:

  • 1 pack firm tofu, drained (if necessary) and cubed
  • 1/2 red pepper, deseeded and chopped
  • 2 handfuls beansprouts
  • straight-to-wok noodles
  • 2 spring onions, chopped
  1. First, simply combine all of the sauce ingredients and mix until smooth.
  2. Marinate the tofu in the sauce for about 15 minutes.
  3. Heat a little oil in a wok over a high heat and add the tofu with a scant covering of the sauce. Stir-fry for 2-3 minutes then set aside.
  4. Tip in the pepper. After a minute or so add the noodles. After another 2-3 minutes, add the beansprouts, tofu and remaining sauce. Mix everything together.
  5. Transfer to bowls and scatter over the spring onions.

I love tofu and like using different types. For this recipe I used silken tofu which broke up a lot during the cooking process. I loved the texture and would use it again, but if you prefer more bite, use regular tofu which will retain its shape much better.

One Response to “Home-made Hoisin sauce and a Side of Stir-Fry”

  1. diane mavity November 26, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    Lovely as ever Anna good luck tomorrow night X

Leave a Reply

