Curd Fritters

17 Nov

These are beautiful and unusual.

You won’t be able to find curd cheese everywhere, but I get mine from the Polish section in Asda.

It is a type of cottage cheese, so I reckon you could substitute with that… but don’t take my word for it as I haven’t tried.

When I first tried these I was blown away by the intensity of flavour.

What I will say is that I found them quite difficult to pair with a suitable starch. It just didn’t seem right to put them with pasta, rice or potatoes… but sweet potatoes match them perfectly.

Sweet potatoes… I swear they could be eaten with anything and it would be delicious.

Serves 2.

  • 250g curd cheese (I use Twaróg Lowicki curd cheese)
  • 1 egg
  • 50g breadcrumbs
  • 2-3 sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • 1/4 fresh red chilli, deseeded and chopped (or pinch of dried chilli flakes)
  • pinch of dried thyme
  • a little grated nutmeg
  • sprinkling of salt

  1. Simply mix all of the ingredients together thoroughly in a large bowl. Leave to stand for 20 minutes. This is important to allow the flavours to develop and the ingredients to cling together sufficiently. Trust me, I was impatient once and didn’t leave them to stand at all. The result was a lot of burnt, oily, cheesy crumbs scattered around my frying pan.
  2. Shape the mixture into 4 fish-cake shapes.
  3. Heat some oil in a frying pan over a medium heat. Add the curd fritters (I find 2 at a time is best to keep an eye on them), and fry for 3-4 minutes either side. If they still insist on being awkward to flip over, don’t despair! It will create crispy bits and crispy bits are good.
  4. Serve with sweet potato and peas 🙂 or as you see fit.

Leave a Reply

