Tarragon Chicken Fricassee

14 Nov

I bought a book from Ikea a long time ago called 365 Recipes.

I needed it because it included lots of things I’d never heard of before, and combinations that boggled the taste-buds of my eyes, because they definitely have taste-buds.

Chicken fricassee isn’t anything out of the ordinary. It’s kind of like tarragon chicken and kind of like chicken pie without the pastry, but at the time of buying this book it looked like heaven and I vowed to make it one day.

Today is the day. Although who knew when I got round to it I’d have the balls to pretty much alter the whole recipe!

It makes a beautiful, comforting dinner.

Serves 2:

  •  2 chicken breasts, chopped into cubes
  • 150g mushrooms, chopped if large
  • 150g asparagus
  • 100g frozen peas
  • 200ml chicken stock
  • 100g crème fraîche
  • 1 tbsp dried tarragon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg, grated
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  1. Put some oil in a frying pan and cook the mushrooms until browned and delicious, then set aside. Meanwhile, snap the woody ends of the asparagus, then boil until al dente 🙂
  2. Using the same pan, fry the chicken for 10-15 minutes, or until nearly cooked through. Transfer to a saucepan and add the asparagus and chicken stock. Bring to the boil.
  3. Reduce the heat and add the creme fraiche, tarragon and peas. Cover and simmer for 5-10 minutes.
  4. Add the mushrooms and reheat. Season with the nutmeg and lemon juice, and salt and pepper if you like.

This would be beautiful with mash, but would also be good with pasta, rice or, as I didn’t fancy either of the latter and was devastated by the lack of potatoes in my cupboards, butternut squash! Ooor why not top it with pastry, put it in the oven and have yourself a pie?

I know asparagus isn’t in season, but I have had some in my freezer since it was and I wanted to use it. Feel free to substitute with any seasonal vegetables or your favourites 🙂

2 Responses to “Tarragon Chicken Fricassee”

  1. Tracey Cooke November 14, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    You are such a clever girl 😀

Leave a Reply

